Skip to content

What would you rather do?

February 5, 2009
which way to go

which way to go

Doesn’t that line send an adrenaline rush through your body?  Whenever I come to a fork in the road, my imagination begins to run wild.  If there are two different scenarios in which you have to choose between, think about how many more scenarios breakdown after you make that 50/50 choice.  To depict a picture of what I am explaining, lets take my senior year of high school.  Every Christmas break, my family takes a vacation.  Ice Hockey was always a passion of mine, and I played throughout most of high school.  Never missing practice, I always enjoyed the ins and outs of the game, and the team camaradie that came with it.  During winter break of my senior year in high school, I found out that there was a hockey tournament.  The tournament just so happened to be going on simultaneously as my flight was leaving for Puerto Vallarta.  My hockey coach was a hard ass, Jon Gruden look alike.  I explained to him my dilemma, and he flat out told me that if I missed the tournament, I would be benched for the rest of the season.  Two weeks on the beach in Mexico, or playing another two months of hockey in which endless hours of practice would be endured? To most this would be a no brainer, but I am a firm believer in commitment.  I decided to miss the vacation and play in the tournament.  I wasn’t one of the best players on our hockey team, but if I had quit then and there, who knows what the long term consequences would be.  I ended up playing through the season, and we made the state playoffs for the first time in school history.  I felt partly responsible for building up the ice hockey program at Watchung Hills.  My junior year was the expansion year of the hockey team.  Finish what you started is the method that I try to continue to live by.  I hated my coach, and all the practice, and not getting as much playing time as I felt as though I deserved. However, being dedicated and having a great work ethic were two valuable elements that I gained from being on the hockey team, and staying on it.  Those two years were part of the building blocks in my maturity, and mindset heading into college and beyond.  The more that you can learn and experience at a young age the better, because it is hard for people to change once they reach adulthood. This all boils back to the fork in the road.  Think before you act, and think for awhile, because each decision that is made in life can lead to a pattern of similar outcomes, positive or negative.

By Mikeyrolls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

