Skip to content

The Fear of Complacency

February 6, 2009

This blog is called “The Fear of Complacency” and I really haven’t dug into the underlying theme of it.  Being a 22 year old, recent college graduate, my mind is racing in many different directions.  We are in a recession that is turning into a depression, and if the unemployment rate gets close to 15% over the next 1-2 years it would not be surprising.  Being in a similar boat to millions of others, I thought it would be a good idea to create a platform, for the perspectives of a diverse group on the world ahead, in this uncertain time.   The fear of complacency is one of the worst feelings in the world.  An uneasiness sweeps over the Y-generation as the comfort of college is replaced with no direction for the first time in their young lives.  School is a major part of most children, and adolescents.  Regardless of whether or not a kid likes school, it takes up a lot of time.  There is little sense of independence, and there are little or no fork in the roads, in terms of life altering decisions.  Then college rolls around, or in some cases, the real world right out of high school.  As much as I detested going through elementary school, middle school, and high school, there was a sense of stability and comfort that came along with it.  College brought more independence, but there was still a bubble that surrounded the community.  College is the calm before the storm.  Now that those four years are over, the fear of complacency has began to creep into my thoughts.  The last time that I had this feeling was when I first got to Indiana University.  Whenever I transition into a new environment, and/or lifestyle, something goes off in my head, that forces me to take some kind of action.  Building from the ground up, starting off on a fresh slate.  Everybody has a book with no pages written once they enter the so called “real world”.  There is always a fear that is instilled in many, that they will amount to nothing.  At the end of the day, I realize that everybody is born, and everybody dies.  Therefore, live your life the way you want to.  Don’t be held back by what society tells you.  I get the scolds from family friends, and strangers when I tell them that I want to play poker in Vegas this summer.  “That sounds too risky” or “What a bad idea” are common responses I hear.  They are all held back by the assembly line (constant worrying about time, based on repetitive, mindless, work).  I spent three months in an office this summer, and I have never feared complacency more in my life.  All the guys on wallstreet raced through my mind.  Making big bucks, and having no life? Or making big bucks and having a life?  I will take the latter thank you very much.  People are afraid of being innovative when it comes to their life.  Taking the safe way out makes the most sense to people, and rightfully so.  Luckily, I wasn’t brainwashed at a young age.  

 

By Mikeyrolls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

