Skip to content

Insomnia

February 7, 2009

 

Insomnia at its finest

Insomnia at its finest

I have insomnia.  For the last ten or so years, it has taken me hours on end to fall asleep.  I will lay down at 1 am, and four hours later I am wide awake.  I try everything from reading, watching television, and even working out at the most insane hours.  You would figure that running 5 miles at 1 am would put me into a state of exhaustion.  However, this just makes my mind race even more.  There is always too much going on in my life, in terms of having to make big decisions.  Whether they are personal related, or business related, everyday is filled with crucial crossroads.  I have been told to just shut everything down in my head.  That is like telling an NFL player to lighten up on his hitting of the opponents quarterback.  One positive that is gained from being up in the wee hours of the morning, is the element of peace.  No distractions enables me to think clearly, and I am most productive from the hours of midnight until 4am.  The raccoons, opossum, and Mikeyrolls, all out and about in the middle of the night.  Maybe as I get older my sleeping schedule will change.  If I ever happen to have some stability in my life this is a possibility.  Fight Club is one of my favorite movies because Edward Norton’s character is an insomniac.  I am not a schizophrenic with split personalities, like Norton was.  However, the less I sleep, the more delirious I become.  Lately I have been sleeping from 5am until 10am.  I never get more than 5 hours straight of sleep in a night unless I am very sick.  This could be bad for me, call it what you want.  At the end of the day, this is a pattern that I have become accustomed to, and it will be very difficult to change.  I thank Indiana University for the level that my sleeping problems have gotten to.

 

By Mikeyrolls

One Comment leave one →
  1. laualexa permalink
    February 7, 2009 6:55 pm

    is it sad i thought cookies when i say the heading?

Leave a Reply

