Skip to content

10 of my favorite movies of all time

April 2, 2009

I am usually not one for polls, or top 10s for the most part, but everybody has a top 10 movie list, and that includes me.  Below are ten of my favorite movies.  I cannot say that they are in any order, because it is really hard for me to rank some movies ahead of others.  I might have also missed a few on this list, but I think these 10 are solid.  If you haven’t seen any of these I highly recommend renting them.

10) Choke- I am all about movies with a ton of twists and craziness.  This tops the list in those categories, and keeps you fascinated the entire movie.  I was also on the ground laughing during a few scenes, and it is hard to get me to laugh out loud during a movie.

9) Remember the Titans- Sports fan or not, this is a classic revolving around motivation, and courage.  If you are ever feeling down, or you just need a little extra motivation to do something watch this movie and it will get you going.

8) Animal House- John Belushi is one of the funniest actors of all times in my opinion, and mix him with a bunch of college humor and you have an instant classic

7) Lord of War- By far my favorite Nicolas Cage movie, has you on the edge of your seat throughout.  Fascinating plot, revolving around arms dealing during hardships and war in many third world countries.

6) The Shawshank Redemption- I have seen this movie over 100 times, and it never gets old.  Morgan Freeman narrating and a great plot that was formed from the book makes a great story and instant classic

5) Fight Club- Edward Norton is my favorite actor, and I am also an insomniac.  I was able to relate to this movie, and the interesting perspective that director David Fincher was aiming for.

4) One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest-  This Jack Nicholson classic, is as nerveracking as it is funny.  I always imagine myself being put in an insane asylum while being sane.  A sane person in an insane asylum too long would lead to insanity for most wouldn’t it?

3) Good Will Hunting- I think Matt Damon’s best movie, very well written and produced.  The plot itself makes the movie so bewildering

2) Goodfellas- Joe Pesci, Robert DeNiro, Ray Liotta, and Paul Sorvino make up a star cast for a great mobster movie.

1) The Usual Suspects-  I always think of myself as Kevin Spacey’s character.  His ace in the hole mentality is what I am all about, and director Bryan Singer does a great job of transitioning the audience through different outcomes simaltaneously

Mikeyrolls

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

