Skip to content

Day 1: Got off to a sluggish start, but…

February 22, 2011

The first day that you wake up into a new lifestyle is always hard.  Waking up to a downpour yesterday morning wasn’t easy, and although I felt sluggish for a couple hours, a nice lift at the gym helped me regain focus.  I also went to the grocery store yesterday for the first time in months.  Running Btownmenus for so long, I have grown accustomed to ordering out a lot, and the launch of our biteintobtown blog in September, has forced me into dining out a lot as well.  During high school I used to love to cook, because I had every pot, pan, and ingredient to my disposal in my parents gigantic kitchen.  One year I even did all the preparations with my mother for Thanksgiving, and I have to say… I make a pretty mean apple pie!  Practice makes perfect, and its going to take time for me to work out the kinks and become a solid cook.  I’ve already got breakfast down to a science, as I have always loved making chocolate chip, and banana pancakes.  Eggs, waffles, you name it and I’ve got you covered for breakfast.  Lunch is a piece of cake, just put together a sandwich, throw some chips and carrots on the side and we are good to go.  Last night for dinner, my buddies Dave and Rob came over and put together a great meal.  They did all of the cooking, as I watched and set the table.  I also made sure to be in charge of the clean up.   We had a caesar salad, with shrimp in a creamy garlic sauce, and a loaf of bread that was nice and hot out of the oven.  The meal was very satisfying, we had a nice bottle of wine and some good conversation.  I felt like yesterday was my first real day as an adult.  As odd as that sounds, although I have run a business for over six years, living in a college town for so long has made it very difficult for me to fully mature.  I finally reached the point in which I got fed up with my routine, and on the brink of reaching insanity, I took a deep breath, looked in the mirror, and just nodded my head with reassurance that all of this is going to work out just fine.  Its tough to take things day by day as an entrepreneur because there is so much that always has to be planned ahead.   I have to remain calm and realize that instant gratification is rarely a good thing in the world we live in.  Anything that you really want in life requires you to be passionate, diligent, and persistent.  What I want in life right now is to live up to my fullest potential. Potential is a funny thing in life, its a word that is tossed around a lot.  There is no way in hell that I am going to look back on this life with any regrets.  Things happen for a reason, and five months shy of me being on this earth for a quarter century, I think I finally get it.  I am not sure what “it” is yet, but I feel “it”.   I was a shell of the real me these last couple years, but that all changed on February 21st, 2011.  For many, this is a random insignificant day on the calendar, but for me, this marked the rebirth of Mike Rolland!  Now I just have to put my unlimited energy to good use…I think its time to go on a run!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

