Skip to content

Day 2: Keep it moving…

February 23, 2011

You know that feeling when you have reached physical exhaustion, but your mind won’t shut off?  Yesterday was one of those non stop grind days in which I was out and about from 8am-11pm.  Conference calls, restaurant meetings, working on the blog, getting the Denver timeline figured out for the fall.  Most importantly, I am trying to set a good example for the crew that has been working for me for over three years.  With one of them most likely heading out to Arizona to run cactusmenus fulltime, two more hoping to venture into Minnesota or another big 10 market, and most importantly, my longest tenured employee, who will be running the show in Btown when I head to the Mile High City this summer, I have to lead the way.

As productive as I was yesterday, last night was the exact opposite.  Tossing and turning all night, I was unable to get any of my REM (Rapid eye movement sleep).  During a normal night of sleep, humans usually experience about four or five periods of REM sleep.  I’ve been an insomniac for as long as I can remember, so the combination of that, and laying off the green for the past few days has cleared my head, but I’m not over that hump yet.  I know the next few nights are going to be similar to last night, and its something I am just going to fight through.  Although I am beyond the point of mental exhaustion at this point, I have a busy day ahead of me, so sleep will have to wait.  Hopefully I will be able to turn my mind off for a couple hours tonight?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

