Skip to content

Sake Bombing and Bowling…The lightbulb goes off

March 7, 2011

As I sat in Pita Pit on saturday going over the Btownmenus/Campus Candy breakdown for the  video with Brice Fox, Dan Weber, Corey Arenson, and David Huber, something hit home.  I realize that I am stuck in the menu game for the next 4-5 years, however I really do see that light at the end of the tunnel.  Writing scripts, screenplays, and directing is really what I want to be involved in the long run.  Saturday was a great day…I took the guys out for Sake Bombing, after all that is the least I can do since they are pretty much being involved in our viral marketing video for free.  We had a great time discussing the possibilities down the road that we all had in store.  Brice and Dan both plan on moving to L.A. to pursue their dreams in music production.  They are both extremely talented and its not a matter of if, but when.  I am excited to see their rise as they head out to the west coast.  Corey will be taking over Btownmenus for me for probably the next two years.  I have 110% confidence that he will not only succeed, but will add his own personal touch to our site and take it to the next level!  As for me, Denver is my next stop, but it hopefully will not be my last.  I am very intrigued by the opportunity to launch a menu site in a large city.  What I am most excited about is starting off on a clean slate not knowing a single person in Denver.  My marketing plan will revolve around this factor and will force me to become engulfed in activities/hobbies that I probably would never have fathomed trying in the past.  As we took probably our fourth or fifth sake bomb, Brice was telling us that he has never even been to Los Angeles before. If that isn’t an adventure, what really is?  We decided to go bowl a couple rounds after we left Sushi Bar, and I have to say that this one of the most fun nights I remember having in a long time.  Sure, we were discussing the future and what we all currently have going on.  In saying this, saturday was a kind of a night off from that daily grind that we have grown so accustomed to over the past few years.  Starting at 4pm with a meeting at Starbucks (ended up being Pita Pit because Starbucks was packed), and ending after bowling our last frame around 1opm, this is what the work hard, play hard mentality is all about.  I am very refreshed as another “work week” begins.  I put that in quotations because the few of us that were at that meeting, sake bombing, and bowling know that every day is a work day, but if you are doing what you love and/or working for yourself it is hard to look at it as work.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

