Skip to content

Sin City awaits…

March 13, 2011

Traditions mean a lot to me, and every year during sometime in March, my entire family usually meets up in Las Vegas.  This has been going on for as long as I can remember.  The stories that we have from all these great trips are priceless and will always a hold special place in the back of my mind.  We have a great time watching all of the college basketball games during the tournament, and the hoopla that surrounds it.  Dining out at amazing restaurants, going to great performances, lounging out at a nice cabana, poolside, and just discussing life.  Some of my fondest memories stem from our annual Vegas trips.   Thousands of characters swarming around that I have never seen before and probably will never see again.  My grandpa got his nickname “Smitty” when he was at a craps table about fifteen years ago.  A texan with a southern drawl, a wide smile and a cowboy hat and boots came up to the table and yelled “Roll them dice Smitty!”  The name stuck until my grandpa passed away a few years ago.  Everybody is always in a great mood when they first arrive, because the opportunities are endless.  Is somebody going to hit that ever so coveted jackpot?  Go on that dream hour and a half crap roll in which a flight has to be missed?  What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas because its not reality.  I like to think of Sin City as an adult fantasy land.  People go to escape the hardships of everyday life.

Things are going to be a bit different this year.  This is the first year that I will be going without my family.  The dates didn’t line up, my brother and uncle are going the week after I return, and my father just isn’t in the gambling mindset this year.  My mother has never liked to gamble, she just loves seeing everybody together and in a great mood.  This year work has taken too much of a toll on her and she has no time for fun and games.  In years prior I have approached the four to five days in the desert wonderland with a mix of apprehension and frustration.  Gambling can be very stressful at times, especially if you lose a lot of money and don’t have a lot of money to lose in the first place.  Lately I have had a frugal type mindset, because lets face it, the more money I save now, the brighter my future will be for me and my loved ones.  This was a last minute spur of the moment type of decision this year.  I was going to go back to New Jersey and just have a boring and mellow spring break.  However, over the past couple months I have not eased up on the brakes and if I don’t get away from having a business mentality for a few days I am going to burn myself out and probably go insane.  There will be a ton of drinking and rolling the dice going on constantly.  This trip will be a perfect measure of my self control and discipline.  For the past few weeks I feel as though I have transformed into a much better person overall.  Haven’t touched weed in nearly a month, and I have tried going out of my way more than ever before to help those around me.  Practicing what I preach has to be a consistent mindset that is followed by the proper actions.  After all, if I can’t be selfless, no matter how successful I become as a businessman, there will nobody around to be a part of that.  Some say you are what you eat, I think of it as, “you are who you surround yourself with”.  Nobody likes self-centered and egotistical individuals, and nobody is perfect.  Everybody makes mistakes, and trust me I have made a boatload over the years.  The key is learning from these mistakes and flipping a negative into a positive by changing ways of approaching people and situations.

One place where that can all be set aside for a few days is Las Vegas.  I will dabble here and there with a little drinking (just get a nice buzz going here and there) and a bit of gambling (probably just sports betting, maybe roll the dice a little bit here and there) but mostly, I am looking forward to five days without caring about emails and phone calls.  Not worrying about natural disasters in which I have zero control over.  Just focusing on what I can control is the best medicine for a clear head and an optimistic perspective as I head west.  Some warm weather, and I know it sounds crazy  like an oxymoron but relaxation will be my main priority once I land in Las Vegas.  Not to sound selfish, but I need a few days of me time, and hopefully Sin City will provide just that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Daniel Abramson permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:27 am

    Nice article. Cant wait till VEGASSSSSSS

Leave a Reply

