Skip to content

Am I in a mid 20s crisis?

May 4, 2011

I haven’t posted on here in awhile, and I figured it was time to get in touch with my writing game.  For the past month I have been doing a lot of brainstorming revolving around how I am going to spend the next few months of my life.  Denver is still set to launch for us on September 1st, but there are other things going on in my mind that must be addressed.  I am supposed to go on birthright on June 12th, and then stay in Tel Aviv with my brother and one of his buddies for a few days.  Basically, that would mean I would be in israel for almost three weeks.  The entire month of July is wide open for me.  Part of me wants to go out to Los Angeles and in enroll in some screenwriting and improv classes at UCLA.  The problem with that is that most of the courses start while I am supposed to be in Israel.  Birthright is a once in a lifetime experience, I mean who can possibly turn down a free 10 day trip?  I have heard great things about it from plenty of friends, and am looking forward to getting out of the country for a few weeks.  In saying this, lately I have been doing a ton of research in the food truck/cart industry.  I have always been a major foodie and dreamed of opening up my own restaurant and bar for years.  Once I started an online menu guide, and saw on the day to day what restaurant owners had to deal with, that dream quickly faded, and I realized that owning a restaurant seemed like more of a burden than anything.  However, the food truck concept really fascinates me.  I have been speaking with the owner of one of our local restaurants here who is interested in partnering up with my family on launching a food truck.  I am thinking this can be a great marketing venue if we launch it in Denver prior to our menu site.  This can be a marketing vehicle for us on wheels.  Am I overextending myself thinking we can launch the menu site and this food truck at once?  After being on this earth for almost a quarter century now, I have come to the conclusion that I am happiest when I am always on the grind.  When I don’t have time to dwell on the past, or worry about something that is out of control.  That natural high you get from a 16-18 hour day of work, knowing you are building something from the ground up.  I am ready to embrace both challenges.  In regards to July, its either going to be UCLA, NYU, or shadowing food truck owners that a friend of mine’s family runs out in San Francisco.  My life always seems to be a wide open book that changes by the day, but hey isn’t that what entrepreneurship is all about?  I will be spending the next month in Bloomington strictly focusing on selling advertising to as many restaurants as possible.  I want to leave this town on a high note, and my seven year journey in Bloomington is nearing its end.  I think I have reached the age in which it is time to get out of the college mentality and transition into “adulthood” (whatever that even means).  I am going to continue to live my life the way I want to live it, and hopefully everything will work out….Until next time

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

