Skip to content

The ever so coveted “technology break”

June 12, 2011

As I sit in the Westin hotel a few minutes away from LAX, I am excited for my trip to Israel in about twelve hours.  The last couple days in LA have been very refreshing.  Making stops at Venice Beach, Manhattan Beach, and West Hollywood, I have realized that I can really see myself living around here sometime soon.  The potential for a menu site to do well here is through the roof, and my brother and I have already brainstormed a couple great names.  I am a huge fan of the beach, its very soothing and helps me clear my head.  I can listen to waves crashing on beaches and rocks all day.  For the first time in over a decade, I will be without a phone and a laptop for the next twelve days.  What a relief this is going to be for me.  My brain is fried from being on a cell phone so much, and my fingers could sure use a break from the constant typing. Not to mention letting my eyes relax from the gazing at the screen.  Business is going to be put on the back burner and I am going to try and thoroughly enjoy the trip with zero distractions.  I have never been on a fifteen hour flight before, and I am usually not one to sit still for very long.  However, on a plane you are forced to be strapped in your seat for the majority of the flight.  I will do a lot of reading, work on my script, watch a movie or two, and try and get a little shut eye.  Meeting a bunch of new people tomorrow should be interesting.  My mindset is finally back to that consistent optimistic perspective, and I can’t wait for this break from technology…starting now!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 1:21 pm

    I’m a little envious of your break from technology! I took a five-minute break yesterday and felt the joyous weightlessness of that. Yet . . . somehow I couldn’t find it in myself to extend the break. D’oh.

    Los Angeles is a fabulous place to live. Then again, I wouldn’t have moved back three years ago if I thought otherwise! 🙂

Leave a Reply

