Skip to content

Nothing more therapeutic than a hike in the mountains

September 22, 2011

I think I am going to turn this into a once a week ritual.  Today I got up right after the crack of dawn and went on a morning hike.  The mixture of the thin crisp air, and turning my phone off for a few hours made the experience kind of like a mini vacation.  I felt like a kid again as I jumped over creeks, walked over tree trunks, and ducked under branches.

Relaxation is not something that comes very easily to me.  I get uneasy when I sit around too much, but there is nothing like a great scenic view from a mountain at over 2 miles altitude.  The clouds are almost one with the peaks.  Nothing matters out there, and it really puts everything in perspective.  We all began as cavemen, and dating back to recent history, (relatively speaking) humankind has been an outdoor species.  I am going to be going back to our ancient roots a bit more frequently…

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 12:45 pm

    It’s hard for me to relax as well. I like running barefoot for that connection to generations past, but I’m not close to a place I could go hiking on a daily basis. Perhaps doing it on a weekly basis (and introducing Li’l D to the wonders of it) would be a good thing to start!

Leave a Reply

