Skip to content

A tradition that needs to change

November 18, 2011

I am heading back to New Jersey tomorrow night for Thanksgiving break.  Just like every other year, my family will spend Thanksgiving gorging ourselves with food, watching football, and falling asleep once the L-tryptophan kicks in.  (an essential amino acid found in turkey that has a documented sleep inducing effect). The truth is, this chemical only comes into effect on an empty stomach.  You are just as likely to get drowsy from chicken, pork, or cheese.    I think I get drowsy from the dull repetition of the same ritual on an annual basis.  I love being with family, and I will always be a foodie for life, but can’t we just switch it up for once?  What if we went on a vacation during thanksgiving break instead of all gathering in one place just to eat a lot for a day?  For as long as I can remember I have spent every Thanksgiving in either New Jersey with my immediate family and my dad’s side of the family or in Chicago or Milwaukee with my immediate family and my mom’s side of the family.  Its always entertaining having a slew of characters under one roof for a night.  I don’t get to see my family that often as I live 2000 miles away from most of them.  We can bring Thanksgiving anywhere, as long as we are all together for the holiday, what is the difference?

When the turkey is being sliced, the gravy being poured, and the pies are baking in the oven, and once the delicious aroma in the air hits everybody square in the nose, it will be time for me to move in for the kill. I am going to put my foot down.  Next year we are going to take Thanksgiving on the road.    Maybe this year’s feast won’t seem so mundane, as I know this will be my last Thanksgiving in New Jersey.

 

I hope some of you are taking advantage of the long holiday weekend and going somewhere fun.  Be safe with all your travels, and happy eating!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 22, 2011 4:31 am

    We’re going somewhere fun, but that place is somewhere 20 minutes away; to my son, there is no place more fun than our destination, a.k.a. “the grammas’ house.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

