Skip to content

A New York Giant State of Mind

February 11, 2012

When you are a little kid it is very easy to become passionate about something.  There is very little that goes on that is of actual importance in those pre teenage years.  A case of the chicken pox, a tough science project, the class bully on the playground.  This is probably why it was so easy for me to be engulfed in sports from a very young age.  Some kids wanted to be firemen, others astronauts….I just wanted to be in section 335, row 13, seat 26 at Giants stadium.  One of my earliest childhood memories was being put on my dad’s best friend Eugene’s shoulders and running up my street right after the New York Giants had beaten the San Francisco 49ers 15-13 to advance to Super Bowl XXV (25).  I was only four at the time, but I never will forget the elation that I saw on his and my dad’s faces.  As though they were young kids again who had just found out that there was no school because of a snow day.  From that day on I was hooked to big blue.  My family had Giants tickets since my grandpa had bought them when my dad was a young boy.  Football became almost a religion on sundays in my family beginning when I was in kindergarten.  I would attend every home game with my dad, and we had a total of six tickets so many times my mom and brothers would come and/or some relatives and friends.  The aroma of tailgate grilling in the meadowland winds during those cold fall blistery days is what really brings me back.  When the Giants won I would be the happiest kid in the world.  When they lost I became irritated, short tempered and even threatened to miss school sometimes on days after a loss.  Unfortunately, the Giants weren’t a very good football team throughout the 1990s.  They had spurts of hope, such as in 1997 when they won the NFC east.  This was only followed by blowing a 17 point lead with less than 3 minutes to play in a playoff game against the Minnesota Vikings.  In 2000, they made the Super Bowl only to get blown out 34-7 by a much better Baltimore Ravens team. There reached a point in which I had to see an anger management counselor due to my overriding passion for the New York Giants.  My parents would bribe me to go to this anger counselor by giving me tickets to future sporting events.  I always cracked up at this notion because that is what got in that therapist’s chair in the first place.

By the time I was nearing the end of high school I finally began to rationalize losses better.  Whether the New York Giants won or loss would never effect my overall livelihood. There is more to life than football, which I agree with.  Football, and all sports for that matter teach us all invaluable lessons if we really search for them.  After being very fortunate to attend the last three super bowls that the Giants were in, I now fully grasp why I have been such a diehard fan all of these years.  Football is a lot more than a game.  I was in San Francisco for the Giants 49ers NFC Championship game a few weeks ago.  I met a ton of great people that I otherwise most likely never would have met in my lifetime.  We share a common interest, and even if we were all just united for one day, that is sometimes all it takes for some people.  Teams give individuals and groups of people hope for the future.  Using the last two New York Giants super bowl championship runs as examples:  Everybody counted the New York Giants out four years ago, and again this year.  There were too many tough teams, the Giants weren’t good enough, they were too riddled with injuries, their schedule was too hard…the list went on.  The group of men in that locker room believed in one another, and their fan base supported them through thick and thin. (With some speed bumps along the way)  I can’t even tell you the lessons that the players and coaching staff gained through their title runs.  What I can tell you from a fan and outsider’s perspective is that I was personally touched by the Giants run to the Lombardi Trophy.  Seeing that motivates me to try harder every second of every day.  Anything is possible if you keep trudging away and working toward a goal.  I am hoping that next time you watch your team play, really dissect what is going on out there, it is life at work…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cathy Rolland permalink
    February 22, 2012 12:34 am

    what an inspirational message Mr Mickey Rolls! love ya!
    mom and dad

Leave a Reply

