Skip to content

Fearing success vs Fearing failure

August 12, 2012

I spent wednesday night-yesterday morning at my buddy Jake Udell’s family’s house up in Breckenridge.  Jake is a very close friend of mine, who lived with me for a few months during his senior year at Indiana University.  We both share a common vision in regards to the future, and what it takes to get there.  Although we are in two completely different industries (him being music, me in food) the mindset, and work ethic is very similar.  Over the years its been hard for me to find people who can relate to how I live my day to day life.  Jake is one of the few individuals who has a firm grasp on where I am coming from. Being a fellow entrepreneur who has been on the grind since a teenager in high school when he started a sports memorabilia company, I have the ultimate respect for the guy.  There aren’t many twenty three year olds with the maturity and patience to put their entire life into their work.  Over the last few days we had plenty of time to discuss business, life, and everything in between.  One topic that really stuck in my mind that we discussed was the difference between fearing success and fearing complacency.  For those of you that know me well, and/or have followed my blog for the past few years, you know that fearing complacency has been the underlying theme of my life for as long as I can remember.  Being afraid of not having a purpose, and always waking up ready to do whatever it takes to reach your ultimate goals in life.  Many people come into this world with unlimited potential but they fear success more than they actually fear failure.  Doesn’t that sound crazy when you read it on paper?  How can you fear success more than failure?  My biggest fear in life isn’t death, or the unknown of any kind…its looking back in life and thinking to myself…I could have done more, and I could have been better.  That won’t be happening in my life, and I really hope the same can be said for you.  Do whatever it takes, and have NO FEAR!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2012 6:43 pm

    Totally on the same page man. Thanks for sharing the insight!

    • mikeyrolls permalink*
      November 14, 2012 4:23 am

      Thanks alot Adam!

Leave a Reply

