Skip to content

time to get over that hump

August 26, 2012

Milehighmenus.com has been running now for about a year.  Although we have only had technology that has been useable in a city market for about 10 weeks.  These next 3 months are very crucial for getting over that hump.  Some people like to call it the tipping point, I call it the camel hump.  Our goal is to get to 100 orders/day in the Denver market before thanksgiving.  This is a feasible goal in my opinion because the weather is going to start getting cooler in the next few weeks.  People order in a lot more when the weather is colder.  You’ve got your customers that order out of convenience which goes on annually.  Then there are those customers that order out of necessity, such as when its too cold to think and you don’t want to cook or go out to eat.  All of the college students are in the midst of moving back to the Denver area.  This should give us a nice boost.  I am also excited to have one my former part time employees in Bloomington, Josh Gershon come out to give me some help.  This is a huge city and there is a lot of ground to cover.  The more help I get now, the sooner this website gets to where it needs to be, and then I can move on to the next stage in my life.

I was reading “When I stop talking, You’ll know I’m Dead” by Jerry Weintraub last week.  For those of you that haven’t heard of him before, Jerry Weintraub is a self-made Hollywood producer, used to manage stars such as Elvis, Frank Sinatra and John Denver.  and is really good friends with former President, George Bush Sr.  He has lived quite a fascinating life, and I highly recommend reading his book if you haven’t yet.  There was one part of his story that really stuck in my mind.  Weintraub emphasized how important it is to make a change when you feel too comfortable in your life. The key to his success was changing up what he was doing once every ten years.  This was an accident or so he claimed, but says that its always good to get out of your comfort zone as often as possible.   The time came in which he felt it was time to switch up the gears.  At this point I have been in the online menu game for 7 plus years.  I would say that 10 year mark seems just about the right time…that gives me a little less than 3 years to turn Milehighmenus into a Denver staple.

 

Until then…

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

