Skip to content

No distractions

September 20, 2012

For the first time in as long as I can remember, I have lived through the last year without being distracted by anybody or anything.   All that has been on my mind is getting our family business prospering, and optimizing every second of every day.  You only live once, or so they say, and lately I have really felt a sense of urgency regarding day to day life.  After reading “When I stop talking you’ll know I’m dead” by Jerry Weintraub, and the Steve Jobs biography, life has seemed to make a lot more sense to me lately.  Ever since I was a little kid I have been an avid reader because I feel as though every book you read teaches you something new.  For those of you that know me well, I am one of the most passionate and dedicated individuals you will ever meet.  Like everything else in life this is a catch-22.  When it comes to any type of business venture/project this is a trait that anybody would yearn for.  On the flip side of the coin, when dealing with personal relationships it becomes hard for me to balance my time.  I have been so weary of allowing myself to fall into any type of distraction trap that my entire life has been focused on getting business to the next level, along with eating healthy and being on a great workout regimen.  As fucked up as it sounds, anybody in my past that has been a mind fuck/wasted my time in anyway, I have completely lost contact with.  Life is too short to get bogged down to bullshit, and whether its reaching a maturation level at 26 years old, or just seeing the ever so coveted “light at the end of the tunnel”  I actually think I finally “get it”.  I am one of the least religious people you will ever meet, but I do think we were put on this earth for some kind of defined purpose and  we must take advantage of our time on earth.  Catering to our strengths to help compensate for our weaknesses is essential for ultimate success.  My biggest strength/weakness all in one is that I care too much.  Being engulfed in this Milehighmenus.com project over the past year has been a breath of fresh air for me.  When I am not working on my business I feel a sense of emptiness and a lack of purpose.  Since this is my livelihood and family business, its hard for me to take my mind off work.  In saying that, I know how important balance is, and I am doing everything possible to be spontaneous at times, and take it all in.  If you don’t enjoy the ride, what is there to look forward to?  The Fear of Complacency has been the underlying theme of my life for as long as I can remember, and I just hope at some point in the foreseeable future that I can find a happy balance/medium between business and pleasure.  For now I am only in mile 2 of a 26.3 mile marathon….so until then, game on!

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2012 1:25 pm

    I struggle from a lot of similar things too! It’s great to hear you’ve had a good year of fewer distractions that has allowed you to focus on what matters most.

    • mikeyrolls permalink*
      November 14, 2012 4:22 am

      Thanks Stephanie, I hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

