Skip to content

the unemployment rate is high…my ass

October 15, 2012

After running my own business for the last seven and a half years, I have seen first hand how many people need/want jobs.  All I hear is how high the unemployment rate is in our country, and I can tell you first hand that is a bunch of crap.  The “entitlement generation” (ages 18-30) have plenty of opportunities, the issue lies in the fact that most of these individuals are just plain lazy.  Unfortunately young people think that they can get rich quick in a snap of a finger.  There have been at least one hundred part time employees that I have hired over the last few years, and the idea of sweat equity scares the shit out of the majority of them.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, instant gratification never leads to anything positive.  The tech bubble has led the future “leaders” of our world to think they can just come up with a cool website idea and become a multi millionaire and live the high life.  This has really frustrated me as of late, especially since I have moved to a city.  Since being in Denver for almost a year and a half now, the unemployment rate isn’t at an all time high, the unreliability rate is the problem.  Somebody is broke and they ask you for a job, you give them a chance and they just let that chance slip right through their hands.  Then the excuses start compiling:  ” I don’t feel well, I have to run errands, I just got a new dog…you name it, and I have heard it.  Stop letting life kick your ass, get out there and start working.  Life is going to pass you by in no time and you will have nothing to show for it if you can’t work your way up the latter.  You’ve got to start somewhere…tomorrow is a start to a new week, get it done!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

