Skip to content

Insanity at its finest…

May 4, 2014

I woke up, got a great workout in, and then decided, fuck it, why not go out for derby day?  Went and bought some white shorts, high socks, and shoes that looked like I was getting ready for yacht week.  For those of you that know me well, this is not the Mike Rolland norm by any means.  A gorgeous 80 degree day in Denver, not a cloud in the sky, and over 1000 miles away from Churchill Downs.  Yet for some reason there was something nagging me to fall into the trap of going with the flow and being part of the “scene”.  Hang out and watch the NHL playoffs and NBA playoffs on TV or go out and be a person, socialize and have some fun out at the bars? I decided to take the latter option. Im turning 28 years old in a couple months, and although age hasn’t meant much to me since I was legally able to gamble and buy an alcoholic beverage about seven years ago, I like to pride myself in logical decision making as I lean closer to 30 than 25.  Today was not one of those pat myself on the back type of occasions.  Ten hours later, a few beers and a couple drinks deep and my body is telling me to go fuck myself.  (metaphorically speaking of course).   I’m not the spring chicken I was as a naive college freshmen or sophomore, nor am I suffering from a heavy case of senioritis anymore.  Not that I go out and drink more than 1-2 times a month, but come on Mike, what are you really thinking here?  Sure I made some good connections out at the bars, met a couple hot women dressed in their finest derby attire, but looking back at the day I wish I caught the end of that Bruins vs Canadiens game.  The bars aren’t going anywhere, there will always be hot girls out, and Ive drank enough times to know what a hangover in your late twenties feels like.   Everything in hindsight is always 20/20, and there is no point in regretting the past, but it leaves me wondering what I was really trying to accomplish today?  Best case scenario, I get laid and then wake up tomorrow hungover next to a chick that I don’t know? Worst case scenario, I wake up hungover next to an empty pillow?  Life in your 20s really has its moments…time for a few glasses of water, an advil, and to call it a night…

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

