Skip to content

Peanut Butter and _______

October 11, 2016

You thought I was going to add Jelly in there didn’t you?  Peanut Butter and Jelly might be the ying and yang of the food world matches, but lets give peanut butter some credit here.  Lets play a game of food mad libs. The real question we should be asking ourselves is, “What doesn’t go well with peanut butter?!”  Fish for starters, but in all seriousness what we would do without peanut butter?  I have a buddy who has a peanut allergy and I really feel bad for the guy.  If you were to tell me I had to give up peanut butter I would ask you for an alternative option.

Last night as I was preparing myself a peanut butter covered banana I was trying to recall the first time that my taste buds discovered one of the natural wonders of the world.  Being an avid foodie and one that lives to eat, I consider coveted snacks to be world wonders!  Anyway, looking back it had to be in one of those early preschool days in which my mother would ship me off to school with one of those lunch boxes that were decked out in stickers.  Within that lunchbox held the key to my toddler daily happiness.  When peanut butter and jelly was first thrown into the cycle I must have come home smiling ear to ear.  In the early days however there were times in which peanut butter really frustrated me.  Sticking to the roof of my top, no beverage in sight, what is a young child supposed to do? Those milk cartons in the school cafeteria saved the day more times than not even though they completely disgusted me.  I have never been able to drink milk unless it is doused with chocolate syrup or doused with cereal.  The one exception has been the peanut butter predicament.  Milk really does unleash the hounds and alleviate the sticky factor!

All in all peanut butter gets an A+ in my snack ratings.  You can combine it with anything from jelly, chocolate, apples, bananas.  You can make peanut brittle, peanut butter french toast, peanut butter pancakes, peanut butter filled doughnuts, peanut butter in oatmeal.   Or how about an asian curry dish?  Satay with peanut dipping sauce?  We can go on all day folks, bottom line is all this snack talk is making me hungry.  I feel like Tom Hanks in Forest Gump here listing off all the different ways you can make shrimp.  Where is the Jif or Skippy or any peanut butter brand for that matter.  Smooth, crunchy I don’t care send it my way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

